* User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 16
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 0

There aren't any users online.

* Recent Topics

Mounting roof consule by greasey monkey
[May 14, 2022, 09:25:38 AM]


Delete my account by wendyh
[May 11, 2022, 07:20:50 PM]


What have you been up to this week by Kenneth71
[May 11, 2022, 04:08:42 PM]


1979 CF Bedford long wheel base single axle and a lot of parts by brockie
[April 22, 2022, 02:54:40 PM]


The Vans are back in town by Sundownernz
[March 04, 2022, 12:32:22 PM]


Bedford CF250 SWD base. Tyre placard or Tyre load rating by wendyh
[March 02, 2022, 07:26:30 PM]


CF wiring diagrams and more by Paul Harland
[February 13, 2022, 08:53:29 AM]


For Sale - One Piece Fiberglass Rear Door for CF Van by Rotti
[November 24, 2021, 12:42:56 AM]


Ballast Resistor by pickmeup
[October 19, 2021, 04:25:04 AM]


Door hinge check spring. by wendyh
[October 01, 2021, 10:21:08 PM]

Author Topic: Temp Sender Units  (Read 3678 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

autocat21

  • Guest
Temp Sender Units
« on: April 17, 2009, 07:40:03 PM »
Anybody know wether the standard Blue Motor Commodore Temp sender unit reads true when hooked up to a standard Beddie Temp gauge?
If it reads correctly I might have a problem with it getting hot if that's the case as the gauge reads hot within a few seconds of Idling.
The Radiator does get hot to touch but how hot is to hot when touching ( How long is a piece of string? ). :-\ :-\ :-\

Offline BusyKiwi

  • Global Moderator +
  • Apprentice Mechanic
  • *****
  • Location: Hamilton, NZ
  • Posts: 1699
  • Still in progress
    • View Profile
    • munchtech.com
Re: Temp Sender Units
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2009, 07:35:56 AM »
I had a similar problem and it ended up being the voltage stabilizer (behind the dash), looks like a flasher unit but it rectangle, has 3 prongs - postive, gauges and earth.

If it is this you should be having problems with your fuel gauge too, as they are connected.
There are so many people out there who will tell you that you can't. What you've got to do is turn around and say "watch me"

autocat21

  • Guest
Re: Temp Sender Units
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2009, 02:13:30 PM »
Thanks for that,I thought that it might have been that Rectangular thingy.
The Fuel gauge reads what ever it likes, you couldn't trust it as you would have a half a tank one minute then just about empty the next then five minutes later virtually a full tank.

Offline Bas NZ

  • Apprentice Mechanic
  • *****
  • Location: Auckland NZ
  • Posts: 629
    • View Profile
Re: Temp Sender Units
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2009, 05:37:57 PM »
If you get a full tank of gas without doing anything, thats great I would'nt touch it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  ;D

Offline BusyKiwi

  • Global Moderator +
  • Apprentice Mechanic
  • *****
  • Location: Hamilton, NZ
  • Posts: 1699
  • Still in progress
    • View Profile
    • munchtech.com
Re: Temp Sender Units
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2009, 07:45:29 PM »
this is what the voltage stabilizer looks like, was meant to post it in the other thread but forgotten which one it was.

There are so many people out there who will tell you that you can't. What you've got to do is turn around and say "watch me"

Offline ben

  • Apprentice Mechanic
  • *****
  • Location: Yarram, Vic
  • Posts: 3497
    • View Profile
Re: Temp Sender Units
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2009, 09:16:54 PM »
ah ive seen that many times.. thought it was a relay..

Offline Rogue Trooper

  • Apprentice Mechanic
  • *****
  • Location: Lower Hutt - NZ
  • Posts: 1028
    • View Profile
Re: Temp Sender Units
« Reply #6 on: April 20, 2009, 10:45:53 AM »
I had a similar problem and it ended up being the voltage stabilizer (behind the dash), looks like a flasher unit but it rectangle, has 3 prongs - postive, gauges and earth.

If it is this you should be having problems with your fuel gauge too, as they are connected.

Aha, so it was that in the end. Not a case of too much resistance in the circuit but not enough voltage.

Offline Marky

  • Just streetable
  • ****
  • Location: Mullumbimby NNSW
  • Posts: 462
    • View Profile
    • Dubshack- Australian Dub Reggae Band
Re: Temp Sender Units
« Reply #7 on: April 20, 2009, 12:53:24 PM »
ive found the lil square thing

been having similar probs with fuel guage

...could this be the stabiliser..bmine only has 2 prongs on it not 3?
Creative Media Producer

Offline BusyKiwi

  • Global Moderator +
  • Apprentice Mechanic
  • *****
  • Location: Hamilton, NZ
  • Posts: 1699
  • Still in progress
    • View Profile
    • munchtech.com
Re: Temp Sender Units
« Reply #8 on: April 20, 2009, 08:40:10 PM »
Aha, so it was that in the end. Not a case of too much resistance in the circuit but not enough voltage.
Not quite, the voltage stabilizer pulsates at 10v (or says in the book), mine was only working at 6v (correctly - any higher or lower it wouldn't work).
To fix my fuel gauge problem I found another CF tank sender unit which had the arm on the outside, not in the middle like the original one and i bent the arm backwards (so what was up is now down, and down is up), this fixed the fuel gauge problem always going to full (which was really empty), the voltage stabilizer change just fixed the temp gauge work within the gauges limits instead of thermostat opening in the red section of the gauge, it now opens about 1/3 way up.
I've learnt my lesson from this, if I ever take another dash out of a van am going to take sender units with it. Then again I have no way of knowing if the donor van one was working. I wish I had taken the sender unit out too
There are so many people out there who will tell you that you can't. What you've got to do is turn around and say "watch me"

Offline silverado

  • Rid of the rust
  • ***
  • Location: Kerikeri Northland NZ
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Re: Temp Sender Units
« Reply #9 on: May 25, 2009, 04:57:32 PM »
As an auto sparky my advise would be just to go to replacment aftermarket gauges.

The voltage stabilised units are using very very old technoligy and will always be unreliable, if your running something later model for an engine, holden, V8 etc then you want it right.

Remember these later engines are tempreture critical, alloy heads, manufolds and injctors dont like excess heat.
The number 1 biggest killer of an automatic transmissions is Heat.

Dont take the risk, even the $30 Trisco mech temp gauge from repco is very reliable compared to the old Beddy units.
A little inaccuracy in your fuel gauge you can live with, but I wouldnt stand for it in a temp or oil gauge.

If your the least bit in doubt toss it out.

About two weeks ago I had the boys at Robbinsons Instruments in Auckland make me up a classic looking oil pressure gauge, black face, white lettering, chrome bezzle, for a job I was doing on a Bedford Bus motorhome.
Came complete with a calibrated sender and the whole lot only cost $110.00, thats pretty bloody good when compared to what the auto parts shops are charging for these over the top, boy racer, jap made, mass produced clip on gauges.

Rusty     
Rusty

Its only speeding if you get caught...

 

SimplePortal 2.3.7 © 2008-2022, SimplePortal