* User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 23
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 0

There aren't any users online.

* Recent Topics

Mounting roof consule by greasey monkey
[May 14, 2022, 09:25:38 AM]


Delete my account by wendyh
[May 11, 2022, 07:20:50 PM]


What have you been up to this week by Kenneth71
[May 11, 2022, 04:08:42 PM]


1979 CF Bedford long wheel base single axle and a lot of parts by brockie
[April 22, 2022, 02:54:40 PM]


The Vans are back in town by Sundownernz
[March 04, 2022, 12:32:22 PM]


Bedford CF250 SWD base. Tyre placard or Tyre load rating by wendyh
[March 02, 2022, 07:26:30 PM]


CF wiring diagrams and more by Paul Harland
[February 13, 2022, 08:53:29 AM]


For Sale - One Piece Fiberglass Rear Door for CF Van by Rotti
[November 24, 2021, 12:42:56 AM]


Ballast Resistor by pickmeup
[October 19, 2021, 04:25:04 AM]


Door hinge check spring. by wendyh
[October 01, 2021, 10:21:08 PM]

Author Topic: Wiring Looms  (Read 5539 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kimbosound

  • Just streetable
  • ****
  • Posts: 427
    • View Profile
Wiring Looms
« on: July 21, 2010, 10:56:46 PM »
Just a quick Q......has anyone explored the option of rewiring a beddy with those loom sets you can buy for Hot Rods.....


« Last Edit: July 21, 2010, 11:01:20 PM by kimbosound »

Offline MaTTe

  • Apprentice Mechanic
  • *****
  • Location: Karrinyup WA
  • Posts: 723
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring Looms
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2010, 11:08:23 PM »
i haven't looked into it, but years ago i considered it.
I think that for the effort, it would be well worth the result.
The bedford wiring especially would have great benefits... My van has HZ wiring (mostly)throughout and i think it would benefit me greatly, so standard it would be even better.

The advantages are ease of tracing the wires when something goes wrong, the wire quality is the same throughout, very easy to add/delete circuits, superior fuses, very neat, etc.

They tend to be fairly costly for the painless kits from memory, there were other kits available that do the same job without the painless name - but i like the concept

Hopefully someone here has done the conversion and can tell more on the matter

Offline kimbosound

  • Just streetable
  • ****
  • Posts: 427
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring Looms
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2010, 11:13:14 PM »
I reckon it's gotta be better than standard.....and more reliable.....especially for my new truck......wiring has been modified and headlights blow all the time etc......i am considering taking this track when i finally decide on engine.....currently running a 253 but it takes up so much room....looking at a 327 sbc.......a long way off as i still gotta finish the first truck!!!!! luckilly the wiring is bog standard on that one.....doesnt even have a fuse box [however i did find all the inline fuses when i changed the dash surround]

Offline MaTTe

  • Apprentice Mechanic
  • *****
  • Location: Karrinyup WA
  • Posts: 723
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring Looms
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2010, 11:29:56 PM »
yeah i think its a great advantage in many ways, last thing you want is dodgey wiring causing problems or worse fires. potential fires are what concern me the most. hz wiring SHOULD be alright, but one day i'll just redo the lot. just gotta find a job - or a sugga momma. haha
with the headlights, do they have a relay in there? the relay will help regulate the voltage so spikes and drops caused by revs via alternator wont cause issues.... a relay is a good quick fix while waiting to fit the wiring kits. if you already have a relay, maybe change to a fused relay and keep lowering the fuse value until it is the fuse blowing before the headlight, as the fuse is MUCH cheaper to replace ;)

with the 253 to 327, you cant go much better than a chev, i've never been much of a fan of a 253 or 308, i'd MUCH rather a 305 or 350. but when it comes to 327s you need to consider that they are getting harder to find in block form and parts, the 350 will probably work out cheaper in parts, and fuel economy wont change much as the reduction in effort for the motor also reduces fuel cost, plus the size between 327 and 350 is nothing.
just my opinion tho.........
Im, sure Merlin has a spare block for you somewhere.............
« Last Edit: July 21, 2010, 11:33:21 PM by MaTTe »

Offline kimbosound

  • Just streetable
  • ****
  • Posts: 427
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring Looms
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2010, 10:03:21 AM »
The new trucks wiring has been adapted to suit a toyota cressida steering column that has the headlight switch on the indicator switch so the big old beddy switch that had the relay circuit in it is now gone......i got plenty of time to sort it. I was watching American Hot Rod on foxtel last night and saw they wired a 32 roadster from scratch......looked pretty easy. If Dwayne can do it i think i can!!!!! Can get 12 - 14 circuit kits for $150 to $250.......small change for the peace of mind.

Offline Warren

  • Global Moderator +
  • Apprentice Mechanic
  • *****
  • Location: Croydon Melbourne VIC
  • Posts: 1536
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring Looms
« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2010, 12:50:31 PM »
I think that they would be a good way to go if your planning a full redo.

Warren
I used to be vague..................Now I'm not so sure

Offline Rothu

  • Rid of the rust
  • ***
  • Location: Melbourne
  • Posts: 133
  • There is no such word as "Overkill" in Rigging!
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring Looms
« Reply #6 on: July 22, 2010, 04:36:17 PM »
In a lot of the rewiring I've done on mine, I've either run relays or completely bypassed the current wiring and run a few 100amp leads straight from the battery into voltage regulators then a blade fuse box then relays.
ESPECIALLY for the lights!

I now have a Volvo instrument dash, Falcon wiper motor, Mazda heater motor, corolla steering shaft indicator/lights/wiper assy, and rewired the whole lot sometimes using existing wires for signals for relays or bypassing them.
1976 SWB CF, 186 block, LPG customised VK EFI self ported Head, LPG converted Ram tube manifold, Extractors, Supra 5 speed, Falcon hwy Diff, HQ Disc brakes, Commodore 3 core cross-flow radiator, HEI, 90 litre LPG.
It can drive up a wall in 5th gear and across the Sun without overheating!

Offline Bedfordcrazy

  • Apprentice Mechanic
  • *****
  • Location: Brisbane
  • Posts: 1744
  • BEDFORDS RULE
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring Looms
« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2010, 09:46:48 AM »
Hey guys, welcome back all, I am rewiring my van when the time comes, i have suggested to my mechanic that we just buy/make a whole new harness. In my case i am doing a show van, so the electronics will be more then a standard van.  Q. for the qld guys, does anyone know a sparky that likes to think outside the box, i am still looking for someone to do the wiring in the van. So far all the sparky's i have spoken to, think that changing a battery or starter motor is thinking outside the box, even i can change those. lol
george
Life Is Short - Grab It With Both Hands And LOVE Your Beddy.

Offline rossie

  • Apprentice Mechanic
  • *****
  • Location: ballarat
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring Looms
« Reply #8 on: August 03, 2010, 07:27:33 PM »
l have done a few wiring jobs on bikes using those new lomes. the first time it took about 3 days, and now l have halved that. l'm no sparky but they are basic. Good luck to any one who tries     Rossie
make it reliable, or smash it with a big hammer

Offline ben

  • Apprentice Mechanic
  • *****
  • Location: Yarram, Vic
  • Posts: 3497
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring Looms
« Reply #9 on: August 03, 2010, 07:40:27 PM »
3 days! far out..

i have a standard beddy wiring loom for sale.

150 bucks..

ben

 

SimplePortal 2.3.7 © 2008-2022, SimplePortal